Greeting Seasons

Season announcements for various new music ensembles are pouring over the virtual transom. Here are just a very few samples – use the links for more complete info, and seek out what is available in your own town:

Collage New Music of Boston is featuring Fred Lerdahl all season with five pieces across the three concert season. Works by Hartke, Mazzoli, Boykin, Liptak, and Harbison’s Louise Gluck cycle The Seven Ages are additional highlights.

Here in Philly, Network for New Music is having an Asian season, with music from or inspired by Tibet, China, Japan, and Korea. Featured composers include Chou Wen-Chung, Dai Fujikura, Takemitsu (with video by Gene Coleman), and Shih-Hui Chen.

Also in Philadelphia, Orchestra 2001 makes its own contribution to the Asian focus with works by Tan Dun and May T-Chi Chen, along with premieres by Jay Reise and Gerald Levinson and music by Golijov and Dutilleux.

The Dallas-based Voices of Change is offering music by Moravec, Lutoslawski, Xi Wang, Poul Ruders, and Chen Yi.

In San Francisco, Earplay revives a 1959 work by Seymour Shifrin, as well as playing music by Saariaho, Harvey, Lori Dobbins, and Michael Finnissy.

Alarm Will Sound is touring with a multimedia program called 1969 – Beatles arrangements, Bernstein, Berio, Stockhausen  – inspired by a planned joint concert by Stockhausen and the Beatles that never took place. The program comes to Zankel Hall on March 10.

The Composer Portraits at Columbia University’s Miller Theater this season will feature Matthias Pintscher, Fred Lerdahl, Pierre Boulez, Julia Wolfe, Mario Davidovsky, Chaya Czernowin, and Joan Tower.

Da Capo Chamber Players celebrate their 40th anniversary with programs that include premieres by George Tsontakis and Keith Fitch.

The Philadelphia Chamber Music Society is not a new music ensemble, but it deserves mention here, for their many concerts will include a rich array of new music and 20th century classics, including works by Ingrid Arauco, Curt Cacioppo, Crumb, Lawrence Dillon, David Finko, Hindemith, Daniel Kellogg, Jan Krzywicki, Lowell Liebermann, David Ludwig, Webern, Messiaen, and Richard Wernick.